Be informed

News & Media

Australasia’s best auctioneers vie for ultimate gavel

18 Aug 17


Adelaide will be the venue for the 2017 Australasian Auctioneering Championships from 6-7 September 2017, hosted by the Real Estate Institute of South Australia.

The annual competition showcases Australia and New Zealand’s best auctioneers who are ready to take up the challenge with a frenzy of calling, bidding and selling.

“The Australasian Auctioneering Championships is an annual event conducted jointly by the Real Estate Institute of Australia (REIA) and the Real Estate Institute of New Zealand (REINZ) representing the most skilled auctioneers that Australia and New Zealand have to offer,” Malcolm Gunning, President of the Real Estate Institute of Australia said.

“The Auctioneering Championships were first held in 1991 between the Real Estate Institutes of
Tasmania and Victoria to provide an opportunity to showcase their best auctioneers.

“The concept was subsequently adopted by all the State/Territory REIs and REINZ and has become the most prestigious event on the Australasian auctioneering calendar,” Mr Gunning said.

The heats and finals are open to the public, which gives everyone a chance to be involved in this highprofile event to be held at the Crowne Plaza Adelaide. The heats commence on Wednesday 6
September at 8.30am.

The finals will be held on Thursday 7 September from 1.45pm with the top 5 finalists battling it out for the coveted gavel. The winner will be announced at a gala dinner to be held at the South Australia Museum on Thursday evening.

The second annual Australasian Auctioneering Schools Championships will also be contested by finalists from South Australia, Victoria and Tasmania on Thursday morning.

Finalists are:

Australian Capital Territory: Alec Brown and Andrew Potts
South Australia – Adrian Colman and Bronte Manuel
New South Wales:Clarence White and Jesse Davidson
Northern Territory: Daniel Harris and Karl Secondis
New Zealand: Ned Allison and Mark McGoldrick
Tasmania: Andrew de Bomford and Conor Canning
Queensland: Justin Nickerson and Matthew Condon
Victoria: Harry Li and Michael Wood
Western Australia: David Vitale and Tom Esze